In The News

Raazi, Padmaavat and Badhaai Ho rule the red carpet at the Star Screen Awards 2018

Raazi, Padmaavat and Badhaai Ho rule the red carpet at the Star Screen Awards 2018

by Shruthi Venkatesh December 18 2018, 9:34 pm Estimated Reading Time: 3 mins, 12 secs

The grand ceremony of the Star Screen Awards was held on 16 December in Mumbai this year. Popular bollywood celebrities like Ranveer Singh, Alia Bhatt and Dinesh Vijan who produced Stree bagged the top honours. Undoubtedly, 2018 turned out to be a magnificent year for Bollywood. There were content-oriented movies, spectacular performances, and releases which hit gold at the box office. The Star Screen Awards is an annual awards ceremony held in India honouring professional excellence in the Bollywood Film Industry. The nomination and award selection is done by a panel of distinguished professionals from the industry. It was originally called the Screen Awards.

Star Screen Awards 2018 Red Carpet (DNA India)

The Jury Awards honoured the following categories. Hers is a list of the winners:

Best Film Award: Stree

Best Film Award (Critics): Mulk

Best Actor (Critics): Gajraj Rao for Badhaai Ho

Best Actress (Critics): Neena Gupta for Badhaai Ho

Best Popular Actor (Male): Rajkummar Rao

Best Actor: Ranveer Singh for Padmaavat

Best Actress: Alia Bhatt for Raazi

Best Director: Sriram Raghavan for Andhadhun

Best Real Star Award on social media: Katrina Kaif

Lifetime Achievement Award: Shabana Azmi

Best Actor in a Supporting Role: Pankaj Tripathi for Stree 

Best Actress in a Supporting Role: Surekha Sikri for Badhaai Ho

Best Debut Award (Female): Radhika Madan for Pataakha

Best Debut Award (Male): Ishaan Khatter for Beyond the Clouds

Best Action Award: Ahmed Khan for Baaghi 2

Best Film Writing Award: Arijit Biswas, Sriram Raghavan for Andhadhun

Best Music Award: Amit Trivedi for Manmarziyaan

Best Lyrics Award: Gulzar for Ae Watan from Raazi

Best Male Playback singer Award: Arijit Singh for Ae Watan from Raazi

Best Female Singer: Harshdeep Kaur for Dilbaro from Raazi

Ranveer Singh bagged the Best Actor Award for his portrayal of antagonist Alauddin Khilji in Sanjay Leela Bhansali’s Padmaavat (2018), while Alia Bhatt took home the Best Actress award for her portrayal of the Indian spy in direction of Meghna Gulzar's Raazi (2018). Amar Kaushik’s Stree, produced by Dinesh Vijan, won the Best Film award. The horror-comedy starred Rajkummar Rao, Shraddha Kapoor and Pankaj Tripathi. Veteran actress Shabana Azmi was honoured with the Lifetime Achievement Award. 

Stree bagged the Best Film award and its lead actor, Rajkummar Rao, picked the Best Popular Actor (Male) award. Pankaj Tripathi won the Best Supporting Actor (Male) award.

Veteran actress Surekha Sikri picked the Best Supporting Actor (Female) award for her performance in social-comedy Badhaai Ho (2018). Gajraj Rao won the Critic's award for Best Actor and Neena Gupta picked the Crtitic's award for Best Actress award for the same film. 

Sriram Raghavan picked the Best Director award for the dark-comedy Andhadhun (2018). Arijit Biswas and Raghavan also took home the Best Writing trophy for Andhadhun. 

Anubhav Sinha’s Mulk (2018) won the Critic's award for Best Film. 

Ishaan Khatter and Radhika Madan picked the award for Best Debutants. While Khatter was awarded for his performance in Majid Majidi’s Beyond the Clouds (2018), Madan won for Vishal Bhardwaj’s Pataakha. 

Amit Trivedi picked the Best Music Director award for Manmarziyaan (2018). Arijit Singh bagged the Best Singer (Male) trophy for 'Ae Watan' song from Raazi. Harshdeep Kaur took home the Best Singer (Female) award for Raazi's 'Dilbaro' song. Gulzar won the Best Lyrics award for his song 'Ae Watan'.

Director Ahmed Khan won the Best Action award for Tiger Shroff-starrer Baaghi 2. 

The biggest winners of the night, Ranveer and Rajkummar, took to their social media accounts to share their victory and excitement with their fans. Social media were flooded with tweets of bollywood celebrities on their Big Day.

Disclaimer: The views and opinions expressed in this article are those of the authors and do not necessarily reflect the official policy or position of The writers are solely responsible for any claims arising out of the contents of this article.